PCTELA 2015

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Yes, I am retired.  I no longer teach but still I attend conferences.  Why?  Is it to meet and catch up with friends I haven’t seen in a while?  Yes.  Is it because conferences are energizing?  Yes.  Is it because I get to hear some of the best authors and educators speak?   Yes.  Will I continue attending conferences?  Yes.

I just got back from PCTELA (Pennsylvania Council of Teachers of English and  Language Arts) 2015.  It was held at the Harrisburg Hilton this year so it was only about an hour drive from here.

Every year I am amazed at the featured speakers who come as well as the educators from around the state that present sessions.

This year’s featured speakers included Hip Hop based educator H. Bernard Hall, author and Newbery Honor winner Cynthia Lord, Toby Emert, and Newbery Award winning author Kwame Alexander.  How can one not be inspired by these speakers?

I know that organizing a state wide conference is no small task.  I must say that this year’s co-chairs, Pauline Schmidt and Laura Renzi, did an outstanding job pulling everything together.

I am not going to get into the details of the conference today since I have places to go today and must leave shortly.  I will save that for next week.

My only hope is now that PCTELA 2015 is over I need to get my rear in gear and start doing some work.  You see, I am co-chairing next year’s conference which will be held in State College.  Wish me luck.  (I need it.)

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “PCTELA 2015

  1. I agree with you that conferences are very energizing. I feel the same way about taking courses. Thanks for your suggestion on my writing. It would be funny from muscle car’s point of you.

  2. Judy C.

    Sounds like this conference gave you the needed encouragement to begin work on next year’s conference. Good luck!

  3. Wow…you had a star studded cast. What a wonderful experience.

  4. Those speakers are the rock stars of our world! Sounds like it was great. That’s a lot of pressure for next year, but I’m sure you will do a great job.

  5. What a great learner you are! Those wide learning experiences will serve you well as you plan for your own conference! ❤

  6. Sounds like a wonderful conference. I admire the fact that you continue to attend conferences even after retirement. What dedication to our profession.

  7. Oh, how exciting to co-chair a conference!

    I admire how you keep on learning professionally, even though you are retired. I hope I will do the same someday.

  8. You have blazed a trail for me! Permission to keep engaged in our profession retirement or not! What a great adventure to plan a conference! Now that trail I probably would think twice about following in! 🙂

  9. rosecappelli

    We definitely have something in common! Chairing a conference is a real learning experience. It sounds like you have a great start! Good luck.

  10. Life long learning is the goal, right? With your sense of humor and creativity next year’s conference will be a home run.

Leave a Reply

