Seeing and then Reading About It

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

It is kind of strange when you see something one day and then read about it the next day in the local paper.  That happened to us.

On Saturday Kathy and I took a one day bus trip to NYC.  We had a great time.  There was a street fair going on so parts of Broadway were blocked off for vendors.  It is always neat to see what they bring out.  We rarely buy but it is interesting to see what is being sold.

There are also food vendors.  The smells just fill the air and make you hungry, at least they do for me.  We, however, ate at City Lobster and Steak on 49th Street.

Anyway, after dinner we walked down to 44th Street since we had tickets to see Something Rotten.  The show was great.  I haven’t laughed that much in a long time.  As we were walking down Broadway in the Times Square area I did a double take.  If you have ever been in that area you know that there are people dressed as characters walking around willing to pose for pictures.  I have never posed so I don’t know if a donation is required for a picture or not.

Because of the people moving around and kind of going with the crowd I sometimes miss what’s happening right in front of me.  This I did not miss.  There were two girls posing for pictures with people.  Nothing unusual about that until you looked closely and saw that they were naked from the waist up.  Yes, they were painted red, white, and blue so at a quick glance nothing stood out.

They were posing for pictures with the people, and no, I did not get my picture taken with them.  There were, however, some children having their picture taken with then and it did make me wonder as to why parents would want this.  Maybe it is just my old age showing.

Imagine my surprise on Sunday morning as I was reading the paper and saw an article about these women.  Should they or shouldn’t they be allowed to do this.  They were covered, albeit in paint, so there was nothing lewd about it.

Just when I think nothing can surprise me anymore…

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Seeing and then Reading About It

  1. What is this world coming too?!

  2. Judy C.

    This seems to be a sign of the times. There has been a lot of discussion and marches about it in the Springfield, MO area.

  3. These “ladies” seem to be getting a lot of press. Seems to me that they should be inside so people can make a choice about seeing them

  4. Woah…not that is something new in a place known for outrageous stuff. Interesting!

  5. At the risk of sounding like an old fuddy-duddy, some things should be left to the imagination or privacy of your home. Glad you had a fun time in the city, even if you did get an eyeful.

  6. I saw the article but have not read it yet and was wondering why they wanted to do it. I would love to hear there story.

  7. Well. Um. That’s…. different. I don’t know if I would want my children in that picture!

  8. Such a strange new attraction. UGH, I’m with you Bob.

Leave a Reply

