Do You Remember?

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Here I am going into the past once again.  I guess when you reach a certain age it is just something that happens.  Anyway, I came upon a list of things that were popular in their day.  I am sad to say that I remember most of these.  How about you?  Were any of these in your past?

  • Candy cigarettes?
  • Wax Coke-shaped bottles with colored sugar water inside?
  • Soda pop machines that dispensed glass bottles?
  • Blackjack, Clove and Teaberry chewing gum?
  • Home milk delivery in glass bottles with cardboard stoppers with the cream floating on top?
  • Newsreels before the movie?
  • Telephone party lines?
  • Peashooters?
  • Howdy Dowdy?
  • Hi-Fi, 45, 33 1/3 and 78 RPM records?
  • Green Stamps?
  • Metal ice cube trays with levers?
  • Mimeograph paper and fluid?
  • Beanie and Cecil?
  • Roller-skate keys?
  • Drive-ins?
  • Washtub wringers?
  • Reel-to-reel tape recorders?
  • Tinkertoys?
  • Erector sets?
  • Lincoln Logs?
  • Five-cent packs of baseball cards with that awful pink slab of bubble gum?
  • Penny candy?

Please tell me that there is someone out there besides me who remembers at least some of these.  Check out http://doyouremember.com/ for thigs from your past.  More remembrances next week.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Do You Remember?

  1. All were part of my life except for the newsreels before movies. But then I wouldn’t know because we could not afford to go to a movie. Drive-ins were the only way we saw movies. Sound of Music was the first movie I ever saw in a theater. I particularly disliked the ice trays with levers. They never worked for me. Thanks for the flash to the past. 🙂

  2. Awesome list! I remember using a wringer washer to wash siblings diapers!

    The only two I am not familiar with are:
    Home milk delivery in glass bottles with cardboard stoppers with the cream floating on top? – We milked our own cows!
    Beanie and Cecil? – guessing this was a TV show but we were very limited.

    And I have to add, my mom still had a party line on the farm five years ago because it was down to two households left and neither would pay for the new wiring . . . thrifty farm families!!!

  3. I do remember some of them although I feel some are very country-related.
    But here we had in my child hood erector sets, candy cigarettes,vinyl records. I even saw a 78 once :D. You might have added the first floppy disks in your list.

  4. Judy C.

    Dare we say “these were the good old days”? I too remember the majority of them, especially the party line. One time the lines were down, but I picked up the phone and cranked, It Rang. Imagine the expression on my Dad’s face when he heard it!. I hung it up real quick!

  5. Don’t worry, yes, I remember them well. How about when telephone numbers were words, like Beachwood 45789?

  6. Yep, every one. My husband and I felt fortunate to start out our marriage with an old ringer washer, and we had the old refrigerator too with those ice trays. In fact I just sold them in my estate sale-antiques! Love the list.

  7. Some of these might have been before my time. However, I do remember some: candy cigarettes, Howdy Doody, wax bottles, drive-ins. I’m actually sad my girls won’t know what these were. Life was so much simpler for me as a child than it is for them.

  8. I do remember Teaberry gum, the wax Coke bottles, and candy cigarettes. Some of those cigarettes had sugary powder that would puff into the air like smoke. We still have a drive-in theater only about 15 miles from our house. My sons love to go see a double feature!

  9. Terje

    I haven’t heard of most of these, but not so much because of age, rather because of cultural background. if I made a list of my soviet childhood, it would be new vocabulary for many people.

  10. Oh, I remember these! And especially miss this:Home milk delivery in glass bottles with cardboard stoppers with the cream floating on top.

  11. I remember all of them…and miss some of them!

  12. Yes, I remember. Is there still “penny” ANYTHING these days?

  13. Like Dana, some of these were before my time. However, I do remember:
    Candy cigarettes — YUCK!
    Home milk delivery — YES! I had a milkman when I lived in Manhattan.
    Howdy Dowdy — My mom was in the Peanut Gallery when she was a kid.
    Drive-ins — Does Sonic count? 😉
    Reel-to-reel tape recorders – Sure!
    Tinkertoys – My daughter has some.
    Lincoln Logs – ABSOLUTELY!
    Five-cent packs of baseball cards with that awful pink slab of bubble gum – I’m sure we have some in our basement since my hubby collected baseball cards as a kid.
    Penny candy — Does Bazooka count?

  14. My mom had a ringer washer into the late 70’s and swore it got her clothes cleaner than the new one that replaced it!

  15. Erika Haak

    Bob–I am younger than you and I remember 90% of these things, so now this means I am old too! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

