Last Week Local…This Week International

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Last week I wrote about the quilt show that Kathy’s guild put on.  On Thursday we went to Oaks which is near Philadelphia, to an international quilt show.  Amazing!

This show has many vendors which appeals to Kathy.  She even ended up buying more work for herself, not that she needs it, but the bargains couldn’t be passed up. Anyway, I thought I would share some of the quilts we saw.  Some have a brief explanation or my thoughts and others need nothing said about them.  Hope you enjoy the show.

First of all here are some of the winners:

Oakls quilt show 2015 029Oakls quilt show 2015 033Oakls quilt show 2015 032Oakls quilt show 2015 031

These next two impressed me not because they were made by the same person but because each quilt is pieced together using 1 inch squares.

Oakls quilt show 2015 030Oakls quilt show 2015 014

What would a show be without some animal quilts?

Oakls quilt show 2015 020Oakls quilt show 2015 017

Oakls quilt show 2015 026

Being a Leo i just had to take a picture of this one.

Oakls quilt show 2015 027

There are always some special exhibits.  This one was called Fifty Shades of Gray”.  I love the 3-D effect of the first two.

Oakls quilt show 2015 018Oakls quilt show 2015 019Oakls quilt show 2015 022Oakls quilt show 2015 023

This one fascinated me because I like fantasy.

Oakls quilt show 2015 001

Can you see the sea life in this one?

Oakls quilt show 2015 013

Some were very colorful

Oakls quilt show 2015 025Oakls quilt show 2015 011

Imagine teaching a child the alphabet using this.

Oaks Alphabet quilt

How about counting by “twos”?

Oakls quilt show 2015 015

Who needs a window when you can look at this scene.

Oakls quilt show 2015 016

Then there were the more traditional (but by no means ordinary) quilts.

Oakls quilt show 2015 005Oakls quilt show 2015 007Oakls quilt show 2015 008Oakls quilt show 2015 024Oakls quilt show 2015 010

Finally, here is one of my favorites.  Notice the color and composition.  There also was lots of texture.

Oaks buffetOakd buffet 2

Hope you enjoyed this trip through the Oaks Quilt Show.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Last Week Local…This Week International

  1. I have enjoyed your posts about the quilt shows! The artistry is amazing!

  2. I am always blown away by these quilts. The ones with faces are complicated and subtle.

  3. Those quilts are amazing. Oh, you always make me laugh, too. I always look forward to your writing and comments.

  4. Love your favorites, too, but seriously, the quilts are extraordinary works of art, aren’t they? I still love the geometry of the traditional ones, and the bright, colorful ones, too. I’m glad you shared, haven’t been to a show in a long time. Thanks!

  5. You always find the most amazing quilts! Those 3-D must have driven the creator insane.

  6. I felt as if I’d been to the show myself (which I would actually love to do one day). Both my grandmothers were quilters, and I have always been amazed by the artistry of the process and the beauty of the finished art.

  7. Those are amazing quilts. Do people use them on beds or do they hang them for display? The “quilts” in the last two photos are clearly for human consumption.

  8. Judy C.

    I was waiting with bated breath for your favorites – they didn’t disappoint me! The quilts are truly amazing – I just don’t have the patience to put all those little pieces together. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

