Reaching Into the Past

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today has been one of those days.  Here it is 5:00 P.M. and I haven’t written a post for today.  In fact, I was considering not writing at all and just waiting until next week.  However, I knew I would feel guilty if I didn’t post something no matter what it might be.  The reason why I didn’t post sooner might be fodder for a future post.  Anyway, here goes…

Like all good senior citizens I live in the past…the “good ole days”.  I got to thinking about August 4th and all of the important things that happened on that day – the most important being I was born.  OK< I wasn’t really thinking about history but did find a web site that lists important things that happened on August 4th throughout the years.

Did you know that on August 4th:

  • 70 – the destruction of the Second Temple in Jerusalem by the Romans
  • 1327 – the first war of Scottish Independence
  • 1532 – the Duchy of Brittany is united to the Kingdom of France
  • 1693 –  date traditionally ascribed to Dom Perignon’s invention of champagne (I’ll drink to that)
  • 1783 – Mount Asama erupts in Japan killing 1,400 people
  • 1790 – a newly passes tariff act creates the Revenue Cutter Service (forerunner of the U. S. Coast Guard)
  • 1889 – the great fire of Spokane, Washington destroys some 32 city blocks
  • 1892 – the father and stepmother of Lizzie Borden are found murdered
  • 1958 – the Billboard Hot 100 is published for the first time
  • 1977 – President Jimmy Carter signs legislation creating the United States Department of Energy
  • 2007 – NASA’s Phoenix spaceship is launched.

I have left out many other things, but you can see that August 4 is a memorable day throughout history.  You can check to see what happened on the day you were born at  mybirthdayfacts.com.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Reaching Into the Past

  1. This history teacher thanks you for this list – such a varied set of events!

  2. Judy C.

    It’s good to look back to see how far we’ve come. So interesting to see what happened on our special day.Thanks for sharing

  3. makes you feel a part of the whole universe knowing all that happens on your birthday!

  4. I can think of no better reason to reach into the past than to make a personal connection.

    You are not allowed to feel guilty when you miss a post. I missed the past two weeks, and it’s somewhat of a miracle that I posted today. I teach a night class for 2.5 hours in addition to teaching all day. I’ve been up since 5:00 a.m.

  5. No writer’s guilt allowed.

    Love looking at history of a given day. I’ll have to go check out my own birthdate and see what other miracles took place that day…

  6. What a lot of history happened on your birthday!

  7. Glad you posted. Here is to you and champagne. Both of you always make me smile.

  8. Thanks for both the idea and the link. What a nice way to think about the history of any one specific day! 🙂

  9. I may have to look for more, but my birthday is Oct. 12, & I used to say it was Columbus Day, but now it’s not very much of a holiday to celebrate. Guess I should find another ‘item’. Happy Birthday almost a month later, but I do like August people, my grandfather, my son and grandson!

Leave a Reply

