Temptation

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Tuesday September 1, 2015

I see it there

Just sitting on the counter.

Freshly baked.

Cooling.

Made for company.

Not to be touched.

Cake layer,

Topped with custard,

and a sponge topping to finish it off.

I know I shouldn’t

but I can’t resist.

Telling me “No”

is useless.

I am not listening.

No one is  watching.

Up I jump.

Licking from to the center

Tastes so good.

He rattles the coin can

and down I jump.

He starts to yell

but I walk away.

Swishing my tail I say,

“I’m family.

Bake another one for the company.”

(Ned was definitely on my fecal roster after this.  Cake was made for company coming for dessert the next day.  Luckily, I had all ingredients to make another cake the following morning.  Turned out delicious.)

You can see the part that Ned helped himself to.

cake - Ned 001

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Temptation

  1. First, I thought this was about you until about 2/3 of the way through! Second, fecal roster?! Ha ha ha.

    I really don’t blame Ned. I might have done the same…

  2. Judy C.

    We once had a cat name Gildersleeve who helped himself to Mom’s lemon meringue pie that she had left on the counter to cool. Needless to say, I think she had the same feeling as you!

  3. Find a place “up high”. We’ve had too many pets who grabbed a slice; they cannot say no! Love the poem, also a treat.

  4. Oh my was this a trip down memory lane! No, they cannot help themselves at all. I adore that you have a Fecal Roster and I have a Defecation Dossier.

  5. My cats’ behavior has gotten them on that infamous list many times!

  6. Terje

    I like the cat perspective, especially the last statement.

  7. Like Dana, I thought it was you at first! 😉 Fun Slice! I can just see the scorn on your cat’s face when swishing his tail.

  8. At first I thought this was written by you about yourself. Then I realized, it was the cat. Oh my! Baked by family for family, right?

  9. A fecal roster??? You really are funny. It is always a treat to read your posts.

  10. This made me laugh, as we’ve had cats with the same attitude and appetite for the just baked.

  11. Love the poem–I also thought this was from your perspective at first and it was a fun jolt when I realized my mistake. Thanks for the smile!

  12. Jaana

    I am smiling! Glad you were prepared to bake a fresh cake!

Leave a Reply

