Questions

8a3cc-11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

As educators we all know the value of the well asked question.  We use questions to guide our instruction, to help students go beyond their comfort zones, and find out what our students need.  I have often asked my class, “How Will I Know if you don’t understand something if you don’t ask?”

Many years I began the first day of class by asking my students, “Do You Believe in magic?”  I would then explain to them some of the magic that would happen as the year progressed.

Some questions are not limited to the classroom.  How many times have we come across some kind of altercation in the hallway or somewhere else in the building and asked, What’s Going On?”  Sometimes we get an answer or sometimes it is just a strange look.

Sometimes the questions we ask come from sheer exasperation.  During rainstorms the class as a unit seems to turn toward to window to watch the water pelt the windows.  I always had to ask, “Have You Ever Seen the Rain?”  I then had them refocus on what I was saying. I remember once wen I had a trip coming up I mentioned this to my class.  I told them where I was going and then asked them. “Do You Know the Way to San Jose?”  It led to a little discussion on geography.

Of course, questions aren’t only limited to the classroom.  We are faced with a barrage of questions everyday of our lives.  The other day Kathy and I were out and stopped at a Mickey D’s for a quick bite to eat.  There was another couple there who were obviously in the midst of a disagreement.  We didn’t want to eavesdrop, but with the volume of their voices it was hard not to hear.

At one point he asked her, “Is This Love?”

She promptly replied, “What’s Love Got to Do with It?”

Luckily Kathy and I were finished eating so we left.  I just didn’t want to know where that conversation was going

I can go on and on, but I wont.  However, one more instance comes to mind.  Yesterday I heard a ruckus outside our house.  I went outside to look and saw two labs running around the shrubs.  I have no idea what they were doing or who they belonged to.  So of course I had to ask (are you ready for it?), Who Let the Dogs Out?”

Okay, I lied.  I do have one more question to ask.  I have never found out the answer to this so if anyone reading this knows please tell me.  “Does Your Chewing Gum Lose Its Flavor On the Bedpost Overnight?”

Las question, I promise.  What do Whitney Houston, The Lovin’ Spoonful, Marvin Gaye, Dionne Warwick, Bob Marley & the Wailers, Baha Men, and Lonnie Donegan all have to do with my post today?

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Questions

  1. Sorry, I forgot to include Tina Turner.

  2. Your mind works in mysterious ways! Always so clever with your words. Who knew there were so many song titles that are questions?

  3. I came back from my blogging break today to read this and find that you haven’t lost your sense of humor! I love this musing over the nature of questions. My favorite one to ask my daughters lately is, “How were you kind today?”

  4. Lisa

    It’s true! With a 4.5 year old at home I spend a great deal of my day answering questions and it can be exhausting! But my best coping mechanism is the answer, then ask a follow-up question for her to to think about. Keeps her busy for a minute!

  5. “Wouldn’t It Be Nice?” if people were never embarrassed to ask questions, or to create? Love this so much, clever & darn sneaky too. At first, I didn’t get it, then I did, enjoyed it so much! (Beach Boys)

  6. Do you ever students ever ask “Does anybody really know what time it is?
    Thanks for the laugh😄

  7. So many artfully asked questions. Thanks for a slice of humor today.

  8. Diane Anderson

    Ha, ha! Fun slice! And I recognized them all.

  9. Jaana

    Love these questions!! Humor instead of higher order thinking skills all the time. Oh wait, without complex thinking (and remembering) your final question might have been left unanswered!

Leave a Reply

