The Best Summer Job

3741a-sol

SOL Tuesday, June 30, 2015

I am a big fan of Summer.  It is not that I dislike the other seasons, it is just that in summer you can do things that you can’t do during other seasons.  Well, maybe you can, but it is not the same.

A backyard cook out during any other season isn’t the same as it is during summer.  Sitting on the patio in the early morning with a cup a coffee is something to be relished.

Summer brings about church bazaars and firehouse block parties.  I associate these with some of the best bean soup I have eaten as well as bleenies and pierogies smothered in onions and butter.

Then there are those little jobs I like to do only in the summer.  Last week I did what I consider to be my favorite way to spend a summer’s day.  Before I get to that I need to set a bit of ground work.

Our back yard has several trees growing there.  These trees were there when we bought the house 26 years ago and they are still growing strong.

House and trees 001 House and trees 002 House and trees 003

We own a ranch house.

House and trees 004Yes, that is Ned sitting in the window.

Because the trees are so tall the the house isn’t. every year leaves and things are blown from the trees during storms and land in the rain gutters.  As a result, the gutters need to be cleaned at least once a year.

There is nothing I enjoy more than getting out a ladder, extending it to its full height, and leaning it against the house so that I could climb it.  That is what I did last week.  As you can see, the roof has to be at least 75 to 100 feet off of the ground. (I am a big fan of heights.)

Anyway, with gloves on an several plastic bags in hand I climbed and climbed, and climbed until I reached the top of the ladder.  I looked down at the matchbox cars sitting in the driveway and then got to work.

There is noting more exciting than putting your hand, even though it is gloved, into the wet gunk or is it goop, I do forget the technical name, and scooping ti out to put into a bag.  Because I could only reach as far as I could extend my hand I had to descend the ladder, move it over a few feet, climb again, and do more scooping.

I was really fortunate because the leaves and things didn’t just settle in the gutters on one side of the house.  Oh, no.  All for sides had to be cleaned.  I didn’t know how I would be able to take that much excitement all in one day, but I managed.

Now the gutters are clean and rainwater freely flows once again, until I need to to this again next summer.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The Best Summer Job

  1. Yep, that used to be an annual thing at our house too, and to me, watching, it was scary. My husband, like you I think, just took it in stride, and like all summer things, checked it off the list. I hope you also enjoy more of those “bleenies and pierogies smothered in onions and butter” also. They sound better than ‘goop’!

  2. You really had me going! I thought, wow – she’s more comfortable with heights than I am! Wow, she must not get enough sensory stimulation, enjoying the goop. 🙂 It is exciting to be crossing another annual to-do off the list, right?! Thanks for sharing…great fun!

  3. richard hamera

    living in a highrise has its advantages. cleaning out gutters is one of them!!!!!

  4. Isn’t it nice to a have a cat gazing out the window while you work?

  5. Everybody’s favorite way to spend a day! Tomorrow’s coffee will tast that much sweeter.

  6. I loved the way you described this – so tactile and satisfying. This is how I feel about filling up the planters on my porch – great summer work!

  7. Oh the joys of home ownership! Gutters are a necessary evil that requires a bit of maintenance. Glad you completed the onerous task with no mishaps. 🙂

  8. Whew…you survived. 🙂 Your stories are always so well told. A chore described with your lovely humor!

  9. Even though the weeds in our wetlands backyard go wild in the summertime, I do love the fullness of our backyard at this time of year.

    Happy summertime to you, Bob!

  10. Judy C.

    Such a rewarding job – when finished! Now you can enjoy that cup of coffee and look at those beautiful trees that will, in a few short months, drop all those leaves, but for now they provide some wonderful shade from the sun.

Leave a Reply

