Feeling Old

3741a-sol

SLO Challenge – Day 3

I am not a big fan of morning talk shows.  I don’t usually watch them.  However, the other day Kelly and Michael were on in the background as I was checking emails and FB.  I was only half listening when Kelly mentioned a web site that would tell you what the number one song was on the day you were born.

This caught my interest so I listened.  When that segment was over I decided to check it out just for fun.  Big mistake.  The site is playback.fm.  There is a banner that tells you to click here to find the number one song on the day you were born.  I did.  I entered my birthday, August 4, 1951 and clicked.  What came up made me feel my age.

The number one song on the day I was born was “Come on-a My House” sung by Rosemary Clooney.  For all of you young ones out there, that would be George Clooney’s aunt.  My thoughts on that particular song might come in a later post.

Anyway, to make matters worse, there is also a place to click if you want to know what song you were conceived to.  Really?  They just calculate back nine months exactly so the song might not be all that accurate.  Of course, counting ourselves and any siblings, we know that that is only the number of times our parents “got frisky”.

Curiosity got the best of me so I had to check it out.  Are you ready for this?  I wasn’t.  Nine months prior to the day I was born the number one song was “Goodnight, Irene” by Gordon Jenkins and the Weavers.  I can see many of you out there scratching your head and saying, “Who?” and “That is really a song?”

There is also a place you can click on to see tho top 100 songs of the year your were born.

So, dare I ask?  What was the number one song on the day you were born?  What song were you conceived to?  If anyone says it was something by Brittney Spears I am so outta here.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Feeling Old

  1. Debbie Boone/KC and the Sunshine Band? While I don’t want anyone to “feel” old, I must say, it stopped us in our tracks the other day when we were making dinner. Listening to the “Oldies” (my dad’s station), here comes a top 40 from my childhood. Ahem. By the way, I only listened to 50s and 60s growing up. I still think it’s the best music around!

  2. “Three Times a Lady,” by the Commodores, which I will probably have in my head all morning now! Love this slice, thanks for the morning smile.

  3. “I Feel Fine” by The Beatles. I’m singing it in my head now.

  4. Ha! Mine is “It’s Too Late” by Carole King. I wonder if that is how my parents felt. Thanks for the post that led me to do a bit of research. A great way to start my day.

  5. Judy C.

    Twelfth Street Rag by Pee Wee Hunt & His Orchestra (had to listen to it to remember). And yes, that makes me feel old!

  6. That’s awesome! I enjoyed that.

  7. I did not see the link above but found http://playback.fm/birthday-song. I think this must be the one.
    My conception song: I Can Dream, Can’t I? by The Andrews Sisters
    My birthday tune: Goodnight, Irene by Gordon Jenkins and The Weavers
    Yeah, that was fun! Looked up my own kids…
    Thanks for the fun this morning!

  8. (They Long to be Close) To You – The Carpenters. This was a great post. Thank you for that walk down memory lane AND the chuckle.

  9. I am going to have to try this out once I get home (it was blocked in school) – so cool about “Good Night Irene! Pete Seeger is one of my heroes.

  10. DEFINITELY not Ms. Spears! it was “Sir Duke” by Stevie Wonder.

  11. Terje

    Maybe seeing the name of a song makes feel old, but listening to songs that were played when I was 18 makes me feel young again.

  12. #1 song for me was Goodnight, Irene and I was conceived to Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer! Really? Thanks for the fun!

  13. Birthday song: Sh-Boom by the Crew-Cuts (and I say who is that?)
    Conceived: Rags to Riches by Tony Bennett (at least I know of him)
    Robert, you find the most intriguing bits, whether it is in the paper or on-line. You’ve made a lot of people smile today.

  14. Jaana

    I Want to Hold Your Hand by The Beatles. I don’t think that my parents even knew who the Beatles were!

  15. Ha! Some Enchanted Evening by Perry Como
    Cool site Bob. I wonder how many Slicers know Perry Como. You?

  16. Loved this!…But like you…wow do I feel old. Patti Paige and the day I was conceived was The Third Man Theme…by Anton Karas….and that has given me an idea for my post tomorrow or some time this week. Thank you!

    I am glad to be back blogging….had trouble with getting on…but then my friend Rae began to decline…and so Ray and I spent our time with her. It’s been a sad few months.

    And….we are planning a trip to NYC at the end of March…and I know you and your wife go there. Any advice on a restaurant? We have tickets to see ‘The Audience.” That is about all we have planned…but will have no trouble finding things to see and do. It has been years since I have been there.

Leave a Reply

