The Results are In

3741a-sol

I would like to start today’s post by thanking all of you for your thoughts and prayers over the last few weeks. The result of my stress test came back normal.  What a relief  – I guess.  Is it better knowing things are normal than not knowing what caused the problem in the first place?

When I got the call form the doctor’s office about my results one thing I was told that did make me happy was that I could stop the medications I had be on for the two previous weeks.  That meant that i would not have a headache every day as I did for the weeks between my hospital stay and the stress test.

I love reading the material that comes with the pills, especially if the pills are something I have not taken before.I was taking isosorb mono and metoprolol both of which did basically the same thing in different ways.  What they didn’t tell me and I found out by reading the information was that both caused headaches.  They weren’t wrong.  I had a headache every day for two weeks that would last until around 4 in the afternoon.

I could have taken something for them, but I refused to add another daily pill to my list.  Not only did each pill cause a headache, each pill also makes you dizzy tired.  I was really not much fun to be around for those two weeks.  Bless Kathy for putting up with me.

When the nurse told me I could stop the medications I shouted for joy and told her, “No more headaches.”  She proceeded to tell me that she was surprised I stuck with them for so long since many people stop them after one day because of the side effects.  Wait.  I had an option?  No one told me I could choose to stop if I didn’t like the way I felt.

I love how on the printed information sheet from the pharmacy it states, after listing all of the wonderful side effects, the the doctor has prescribed this medication because he feels that the end results outweigh the inconvenience of the side effects.  Easy for his to say since he is not taking them.

In any case, it is good to know that there is no problem.  This is good because the snow that fell last night is out there waiting to be shoveled.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “The Results are In

  1. Normal results. Woo-hoo! Way to go!

  2. I should have anticipated that ending! Glad for good news!

  3. So happy they did not discover anything abnormal, but yet the question remains, what started this, how is that resolved. Just don’t go too crazy with shoveling, we still need you around to share your stories. 🙂

  4. Love those announcements of side effects-never know if it’s worth it, & for you to discover you could have stopped! Well, you made it, & with great news! Hope you enjoy the shoveling without a headache!

  5. So happy to hear you are feeling better – YEAH!

  6. Judy C.

    Prayers have been answered. So glad that the test results were normal, but still the question – what caused it? Our Pastor is going thru the same thing and still searching for an answer. Don’t overdo on the shoveling. It will melt – eventually!

  7. It’s all in the fine print, they say, but… Best of all, you have been given the green light to go back to life as normal. Hooray!

  8. Glad for this good news. Take it easy with the snow shoveling and enjoy your headache free days.

  9. Glad to hear you are a-ok and headache free. I can’t help, but read the information about the side effects of any drug I take. Too bad the doctor didn’t mention to you to stop if you weren’t feeling up to par.

Leave a Reply

