House Problems

3741a-sol

If you own a home you probably have figured out that there is always something that needs to be done.  Proper maintenance is a must or a house will fall apart around you.  Sometimes it is just minor things that need to be taken care of.  A coat of paint works wonders on tired walls.

Major repairs might be things like getting a new roof or remodeling a kitchen or bath.  Our bath and basement have been redone in the last five years.

Some things I can handle myself.  I wield a mean paint roller.  Other things—no way.  Two weeks ago we had a problem that there was no way I could fix.  Of course, the problem should not have arisen in the first place.  It is my own fault that it happened.

It was one of those things that I knew I should take care of, but I kept putting it off because things were flowing smoothly and I had a back-up list of other things that, at least in my mind, took priority.  I had good intentions of taking care of this, but we all know what’s paved with good intentions.

So, during one of the coldest weeks of the year the flow of things is disrupted.  I had no choice; I called for help.  I just had to wait for the person I called to fit me in.  I also had to wait for a day when it would be warmer than single digits.  That day came and so did the guy I called.  Thankfully, things are flowing smoothly once again.

I realize that I did not mention what kind of problem I had.  I am not going to do it here either.  However, if you carefully look at this post you should be able to figure out who I called for help and that should tell you what my problem was

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “House Problems

  1. A ha! I feel like quite a detective over here! I figured it out! I’m glad you’re flowing smoothly again. 🙂

  2. I’m blaming my eyes, but I know that I will have to come back later to really study the trail of hints you’ve left! I forgot to schedule the boiler maintenance, and paid for it on the coldest day of the year. 😦

  3. I followed your clues and got some information. I didn’t know what it meant so I did some research and now I think I understand. I have always lived in the city so my house flow has never been disrupted in this way. Thanks for some needed distraction and a clever piece of writing. By the way I am glad you did not take care of it yourself!! 🙂

  4. Glad things are operating properly again. Home ownership isn’t for the faint of heart! (My mom high-tailed it back to NJ this morning since my father called and told her that the pilot light went out on their hot water heater. Hoping it gets fixed for them today since there’s a major part that has to be replaced.)

  5. I knew those bold letters must mean something as I was reading. That is too funny. This would be a good exercise for kids to try in their writing. In fact, I may have to try it someday. Those home ownership issues are not fun. Of course it would rear it’s ugly head when the world was frozen. Glad it’s all better now. 🙂

  6. Judy C.

    Cleaver fellow! Fortunately, my hubby is fairly handy at being a fix it man, but on occasions, we have had to call “the guy”.

  7. Ha!Ha! I get it! My dad was “the guy”…the word “emergency” was prominent in his business ads.

Leave a Reply

