OLW

3741a-sol

Reading posts about what others have said their One Little Word would be for 2015 got me thinking about mine.  I looking back at my word for last year, acceptance, I feel that I have embraced it.  I accepted that I can no longer do what I was once able to do.

In thinking about a word for this year, I don’t have a story as so many others do.  The word just kind of came to me while I was sitting quietly. It hit me that this is the word I want to live by in 2015.

My word is simplify.  There are many things I should simplify in my life.  For one thing there is my closet.  When I taught, I had about 20 sport coats and at least 50 ties, not counting Christmas and other holiday ties.  Well, since I retired I can count on one hand how many times I have worn a jacket and tie and still have at least three fingers left over.  So why are these things taking up valuable closet space?  It is time to go through them and be ruthless.  They are in good shape and I can easily donate them.

When I retired I brought home boxes of lesson plans and things I did with my students.  They are sitting untouched for the last year and a half.  Why am I keeping them?  I know that I will not go back to teaching.  It is time to simplify what I have and just maybe keep only I can use when and if I do a presentation for our local Writing Project.

Then there are the books.  Between the books I have collected and those Kathy has we have hundreds of them.  I know that most I will never read again so why do I hang on to them.  Our local library has used book sales throughout the year.  I can easily donate to the cause.  Our local newspaper holds a huge book sale twice a year.  They are always looking for donations.  Why not share books I have enjoyed with others?  Plus it gives me a good excuse to buy more books…not that I need an excuse.

Yes, the more I think about it the more it seems like simplify will be my word for 2015.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “OLW

  1. Simplify is a great word. You’re already looking at ways to simply your physical space, and I’ve a feeling this word will show you ways to simplify other aspects of your life as well. Great word!

  2. Judy C.

    Great OLW – we can all use this – at least I know I can. It’s another way of looking at those little things and what we need to focus on. Good luck.

  3. My husband is ruthless about simplify. I’m afraid I will need it…but I won’t. Right now he has a soft chair and table in our basement throw everything room. It is waiting for me to sit in and start pitching…books mostly. I think I can, I think I can. xo

  4. Love simplify! That is a word we could all use — I think it is easy to make things more complicated than they need to be and deplete our energy in the process. Looking forward to hearing about how you simplify!
    Clare

  5. So often I feel that if something I am doing is too complicated then I must be doing it wrong.

  6. Go for it! I keep aiming to simplify, too – but the moment I weed out one part of the house, another part magically expands with other stuff. Someday, though, I’ll have this figured out!

  7. As you simplify your life (and closets), you will enrich someone else’s. Great word, Bob!

  8. Jaana

    Great reminder that OLW does not always come as a lightning strike, but more often as a quiet assurance that this is for me. Simplify. I like that word. You are already on your way to owning your OLW!

  9. What a great word! I kept nodding my head as I read your post. I too retired a year and a half ago, have so many teaching materials in tubs and file cabinet and hundreds of books. I need to declutter/simplify big time! Thanks for the nudge to look at it in a different way.

  10. I continue to work on simplifying. I have a spare bedroom filled with teaching stuff. Good luck as you move forward to recognize what you need and don’t need. It’s great to be able to donate things to others that are in good condition.

  11. Terje

    Simplify is a great word. I have read about people who have simplified their life and they have been healthier and happier than ever.

Leave a Reply

