Anticipation

3741a-sol

I am sitting here at the table, writing my post, and staring out the window.  Why? I am waiting, just anticipating…the predicted nor’easter.

Last night listening to the weather forecast I heard, “Freezing rain starting around midnight, changing to rain, back to freezing rain, and then snow this evening and tonight.  Accumulation from 1 to 8 inches.  “

OK.  That covers just about all weathers patterns except sunshine.  I guess they can’t be wrong with that prediction.  1 to 8 inches…I wonder if I could pick the amount I want.  I choose a dusting to an inch.

I did look out the window at around 2 AM, not because i had to get up to check on the weather but because I had to go to the bathroom and decided to look outside on my way back.  The road did look glossy.  I went back to bed.

This morning I had to go to the post office.  When I went out nothing was falling and it was 35 degrees.  I also went to the store.  After all, if were were going to be house bound for a day I needed some essentials like powdered sugar do-nut holes and blueberry turnovers.  I already have hot chocolate in the house.

I have said before that I am not a good waiter.  Nothing has started yet.  What does this mean?  Will the storm pass us?  It would be nice but doubtful that this will happen.  Does the fact that it is starting later mean that there will be more of an accumulation than first predicted?  I hope note.

The waiting game is not one I like or am particularly good at.  I guess I just have to wait and see.  In the meantime, hot chocolate, blueberry turnovers, powdered sugar do-nut holes, mini buckeyes, chocolate peanut butter fudge, flavored teas.  I guess I’m ready for whatever happens.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Anticipation

  1. Your line about “can I just pick the amount I want?” made me chuckle out loud. I just read an essay last night by Craig Wilson about waiting for the snowstorms predicted by the weathermen. It was really funny, and your piece reminded me so much of it. Keep eating those donut holes… snows a-comin…..

  2. You are well prepared – delicious provisions!

  3. Sounds to me Bob, you are ready. I just checked to make sure that we won’t be nail biting on this end on our return. So far, all clear on Friday. Good Luck. Hope your waiting is a short one without much snow. 🙂

  4. I will listen to the nightly news a little closer tonight wondering if it was all hype or was there any substance to the forecast. Sometimes I wish I didn’t watch so much news, especially when they are not correct in their predictions.

  5. Judy C.

    I have decided that at least here in AR, the weather forecasters are in cahoots with the grocery stores. They predict that evil four letter word and the stores are packed, the shelves are empty of essentials and everyone is fearful. Here’s hoping your weathermen are wrong and it will be just your desired amount.

  6. It is amazing how we can get so consumed. I find myself checking and checking. All day I worried about leaks in my house or fallen tree branches –it is the lack of control that gets to me! Hope your day went well!
    Clare

  7. Our stores are raided at the first hint of snow too. And the snow shovels come out. In Colorado, don’t you think that everyone should already have one? Your post today is hilarious, gave me a huge chuckle as I read about the weather possibilities. Perhaps life should be an adventure, especially if you have “hot chocolate, blueberry turnovers, powdered sugar do-nut holes, mini buckeyes, chocolate peanut butter fudge, flavored teas.”

  8. The weather is just so weird, isn’t it? I can’t believe some of the schools around here had two hour delays yesterday. I was out around 8:30 a.m. and the roads were perfectly fine. Better safe than sorry, right?

    Anyway, thought you might find this weather site interesting to follow: http://epawaweather.com/.

Leave a Reply

