Missing Things

3741a-sol

 

I have always been good at misplacing things.  I don’t always put things back where they belong so the next time I need them I go to Kathy with a, “Have you seen…?” question.  Her response usually is, “Where did you last have it?” If I knew that I wouldn’t have to ask. Well, this happened again this weekend.  I wouldn’t say that I lost or misplaced anything, it is just that one day it was there and the next it wasn’t.

I am talking about sunlight.  Saturday it was still light at 5 PM.  Sunday at 5PM it was dark.  I like getting an extra hour of sleep Saturday night although it really doesn’t matter to me so much now that I am retired.  I don’t, however, like the early darkness.  I know it is all psychological, but when it is dark at 5:00 in the evening I really don’t feel like doing much of anything.  The evening just seems to drag.  By 8:00 I feel like it is time for bed because it has been dark for so long.

On the other end of the spectrum, where it was dark at 6:00 in the morning, now the sun is peeking through at that time.  This seriously interferes with my sleeping (sorry to those of you who are up and heading out to work at that time).

I understand the reason for the time changes years ago.  Are those reasons still a factor today?  I really don’t know.  Would it drastically alter lifestyles if we just picked one time and kept to it all year long?  My feeling is that the winter months can be dreary and depressing enough without the added insult of darkness at 4:30 in the afternoon.

Oh well, it won’t be long until March rolls around and daylight comes back to early evening.  Until then I guess I will just go down to the basement, turn on all of the lights and trick my body into not realizing how dark it is outside.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Missing Things

  1. I love your solution . . .”Until then I guess I will just go down to the basement, turn on all of the lights and trick my body into not realizing how dark it is outside.”

    I just hate leaving home in the dark and coming home in the dark . . . on the same day. Talk about major lost sun! And then those dreary, completely overcast, gloomy days!

    I love the idea of the sun being “lost” as I am really good at losing things as well!

  2. Ha! What a delightful surprise as the reader to find out you were talking about sunlight!

    I don’t like the dark evenings, either, but I do appreciate a bit of sunlight when I wake the girls up at 6:20 A.M. Who wants to wake up when it’s still dark out?

  3. I enjoy my sunlight as much as the next person, perhaps even more so, but in the winter when it is cold and nasty, I love the dark outside. I feel all warm and snuggly as the darkness surrounds my lit rooms. So for a few months I won’t mind this loss of light.

  4. As Fran said, it’s hard going to work in the dark and returning home in the dark. But, I do enjoy the cosiness of coming home, turning on the lamps, and grabbing that extra sweater for warmth. I’m just glad that these dark days give way to Spring, soon enough.

  5. I miss the sunlight too. DST ending is tough on us non-morning people. Morning is the worst part of the day, and it is even worse because it’s now dark outside. 😦

    It’s the one downfall of Fall- which is my favorite season! ♥

  6. Judy C.

    Ha, you had me going with losing something (which I do quite often). But I do agree, I don’t like the darkness so early in the afternoon. Guatemala doesn’t have DST, so I got used to it – sorta, but I still my extra sunshine and light. As fast as time has been going, it will soon be spring and another time change.

  7. It’s always a shock I know. What bothers me is that I keep waking up so early, like at 4:30, which to my brain is 5:30. I know I’ll change eventually but this week has been a challenge. It’s full dark now, but the moon is gorgeous!

  8. I can’t imagine living in the Scandinavian countries, without sunlight on a regular basis. I think for me darkness is worse in the afternoon, around 5. Somehow the darkness in the morning feels romantic to write into the day when I feel like I’m the first one up to enjoy it. Crazy, I know.

  9. Terje

    Love how you led us into the slice. I don’t mind the fall time change, but in the spring… arrrgh the early wake up is a torture, light or no light.

Leave a Reply

