Closet Saga

Last week after posting, reading slices, and responding to slices (some might call this procrastinating), I decided it was time to put up the closet organizer we had bought several months ago in Kathy’s closet.  She wanted a way to organize her quilts and supplies.  We shopped around until we found what she thought would fit the bill.  The box sat in the basement a few month until I got the courage to attempt installation.  After praying to St. Joseph for help and guidance, he was a carpenter after all, I started.  Things went much better that I thought.  Thank yo St. Joseph.

The box itself did not seem too intimidating.

007

 

Things are so neatly packed.  Can I possibly get the pieces back into the box if this doesn’t go well?

008

 

This is the space where the organizer will go.  I really hate putting holes inte walls, especially if I don’t know what I am doing.

009

 

All parts are laid out by letter.  Glad I know my ABCs.

010

 

Inspector 2 1/2 checks to make sure all parts are as they should be.

011

 

Now I was all ready to start.  A problem…it seems that the toggle bolt I needed to insert into the wall had to have a 3/16 hole drilled into the wall.  The biggest drill bit I had was 1/4 inch.  Off to the hardware store, toggle bolt and directions in hand.  It seems that the size hole the directions said I needed was nowhere near big enough to accommodate the bolt.  I ended up buying a 1/2 inch paddle bit.  It was just a hair’s breath smaller, but working the bolt back-and-forth I got it into the wall.  I was also luck enough to find four willing studs to attach things to.  This should ensure that things won’t come toppling down.

After about an hour here is what I had.

012           013

 

Kathy then took over putting things where she wanted.

014      015

 

Success!  Job completed.  I even had time left to make lemon bars for the food pantry workers.

016

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Closet Saga

  1. kristilynne

    Is there anything more satisfying than successfully following directions to put something together? Nice job!

  2. Now that’s what I call a successful endeavor! You are becoming quite the handyman! 🙂

  3. Jaana

    Your posts is encouraging! I’ve been thinking about those lemon bars all week. Perhaps I should discover a way to reduce my to do list as well 🙂

  4. You do great work – and then you bake. You rock!

  5. Judy C.

    Congratulations! I’m sure that Kathy is really happy with her new storage space. I didn’t have any doubt that you would finish it and get the lemon bars baked as well.

  6. I am so glad the organizer went up easier than you thought. Now, I might have courage to fix the leaky valve that won’t budge for either Ray or me. We were afraid to try to fix it before our trip. I also liked your helper…making sure all the parts were there.

Leave a Reply

