Technology and Me

I am the first to admit that technology and I do not get along very well.  On the computer, I can do what I need to and not much more.  I know this limits me and I am OK with that.  I don’t have an I-phone or any kind of fancy newfangled gadget.

I have, and have had for years, a simple pay-as-you-go tracfone.  I just wanted something so that I could call home if I were away or call for help should the car break down along the highway.  This has always worked well for me.  At $100 a year for a service plan and 400 minutes which were tripled I had more than enough to get through the year and still have lots to carry over.

I didn’t need a phone that would do every thing except wash the dishes for me.  The unbelieving looks I would get from people when I told them the type of phone I had didn’t bother me in the least.  What I had met my needs and I was happy.

All that changed on Friday. I saw that Kmart was running a half price sale on a new tracfone – a smart phone.  I debated – should I or shouldn’t I.  I had excellent coverage with tracfone.  It was reliable.  Here was a new phone bythe same company.  It should work as well as what I had.  It was only $49.99.  I’ve blown $50.00 on other things before so why not?

I went and bought one.  I got it home all excited to charge it, activate it, transfer my old number to the new phone, and transfer my minutes.  I called Tracfone and took care of all of this.  Now I could play.  But wait!  Looking at the phone I saw I only had one bar where before I always had three or four.  I called home just to test it and every other word broke up.  Kathy couldn’t understand a word I said.  I couldn’t understand her either.  What was wrong?

I called Tracfone back and explained my problem.  Well, the new phone used a different kind of technology than me LG used.  The person I spoke with said she would check coverage in my area.  I had excellent coverage.  Why then could I not get a signal?  I asked what I could do?  The answer –there really wasn’t anything I could do.  OK, could I just transfer my number back to my old phone which worked perfectly?  Yes, but they would have to send me a new SIM card since I deactivated the one in the phone and it couldn’t be used again.  However, I would not be able to transfer my service plan,which I just purchased in January, nor could I transfer my 3,000 plus minutes. I would have to buy a new service plan and new minutes.  

In the meantime this new phone would sit, unusable from home, with over 3000 minutes on it.  If I take it somewhere else where the coverage is good I could use it.  That, however, defeats the reason why I bought the phone.  

So, do I transfer my old number back to my old phone and wait for them to send me a new SIM card so I can reactivate it?  Do I go out and buy a new phone and get a new number?  Do I carry two phones around with me and see which works where?  Does anyone know haw to send smoke signals?  Maybe I should get a homing pigeon. 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Technology and Me

  1. Too funny! And there you were, thinking that you were moving up in the world of connectivity…anywhere near you where you can find a good deal on homing pigeons?

  2. Here we have a story of aggravation, grrrr! There ought to be a way to bring everything back to the way it was without penalty. This is why I don’t like to mess around with changing plans. I find one that works for my needs and I stay with it.

  3. kristilynne

    Ah, we love technology when it works and hate it when it doesn’t. Thanks for sharing an experience we can all relate to in one way or another. Hope it works out for you!

  4. Judy C.

    Oh, how I feel your pain. Both hubby and I have Tracfone and have had good luck with ones we have – “simple with few bells and whistles” – just the ability to actually call someone and talk! I did get a new one several months ago with the ability to text. My friend got a new “smart” tracfone and it seems to be working. I may venture out and get one too, but, after hearing your experience, I may wait. Hope you can work it all out!

  5. I have had such spotty WiFi the last few weeks, I have not been able to read blogs. We are at a place now where it seems to be working. I know what you mean about the phones….but hate to admit that Ray and I both have iPhones and iPads…..of course, he is a computer programmer and quite a techie…which helps. I have enjoyed being able to keep in touch with former students and friends via Facebook…which is at the touch of a finger in my smart phone.

Leave a Reply

