Another list

20140526-090005.jpg

 

Last week I jokingly listed some of the things I miss about teaching.  This week I thought I would give it a more serious turn.  So, here is my list of 10 things I really do miss about my chosen profession.

 I miss leading my students on a journey of discovery throughout the year.

  1. I miss seeing their eyes light up when they finally grasp the concept I am presenting to them.
  2. I miss hearing them talking excitedly to their friends about the project they are working on for my class – specifically the “IT” project (I will explain this in a future post.)
  3. I miss standing back and watching my students shine as they read their stories to their parents and explain their projects during our annual Curriculum Faire.
  4. I miss former students coming back to say “hello” and reminisce about where they say in my room and the projects they remember doing.
  5. I miss sharing what I learn at conferences with my team and the rest of the faculty.
  6. I miss helping content area teachers devise ways to incorporate writing into their lessons.
  7. I miss being Language Arts Department Head for the Middle school.  This is kind of strange, but I enjoyed organizing our monthly meetings.
  8. I miss learning from my colleagues.  They always brought back great information and ideas from the conferences they attended.
  9. Lastly, I miss our monthly faculty Roadkill (covered dish) lunches.  The people in our building really know how to cook.

 Although Kathy and I are enjoying my retirement and I know that I went out at the right time for me, I still find myself thinking about teaching.  I guess that is why I am so involved with our Writing Project’s Young Writers Academy.  In all honesty, I can’t think of any other job that I would have rather had for 40 years.

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Another list

  1. What a nice list. I can imagine missing all of those things. I felt a little pang after reading each one. I imagine you are enjoying every moment of your retirement and from the sounds of it, you are still involved. 🙂

  2. I can relate to each one of those. I think there is no other profession as exciting as watching so many young people grow and learn. FoR some reason me post is not posting on Tuesday’s slice…not sure why…but still enjoy reading yours and the others.

  3. I can totally relate! Having moved from the classroom to an admin position, I miss having my own class.

  4. Judy C.

    From that list of things you miss, I can tell that you really enjoyed what you did and that you were (and still are) a great teacher! It is so special when you can stand back and watch these young individuals grow in their learning.

  5. What a nice list! It takes a special person to ignite the fire of learning in middle school kids. They were lucky to have you leading the way.

  6. SO with you for #1 – #4! As for the rest, you were lucky to teach with a great group of receptive colleagues. So lucky!

  7. What a nice list. This are things you miss, but things many of us still get to thankfully enjoy. Thank you for sharing it.

  8. The list has sadness, but the tone of your piece is hopeful and positive.

  9. You have been lucky to have worked in a profession you loved.

  10. Jaana

    Your career really has been blessed!

Leave a Reply

