Final Thoughts on the Quilt Show

Back on Wednesday when Kathy and I went down for the opening of the quilt show I was hoping that it would give me some inspiration for several posts since i was running out of ideas.  It has and I am grateful for that.  I thought I would share my thoughts and feelings on what we saw.

Most of the quilts were magnificent.  I know how much time and effort Kathy puts into her quilts, but I can’t imagine how much time is spent on these.  For many of these quilters, quilting is not just a hobby but a full time job.  If you saw any of the pictures I posted you were able to see that most of the quilts are works of art not to be used on the bed.

Here is where my personal preference comes into play.  Although these quilts are beautiful and stunning to look at, I want a quilt that will keep me warm on a cold night.  I admit that I am more of a traditionalist when it comes to quilts.  I happen to like the standard tried and true patterns.  Don’t get me wrong, if someone offered me one of the quilts we saw for free I would not turn it down. 

I remembered something I had written a few years ago and thought I would dig it out and share it here.  Here is my tribute to traditional quilt patterns.

Kaleidoscope

Seven Sisters spinning on a white sandy beach.                                                                                                                                        Each one dressed in green.                                                                                                                                                                       Seven different shades, seven different prints.                                                                                                                                           Each sister a shinning star.

Flying geese begin their journey.                                                                                                                                                                Small triangles in the distance.                                                                                                                                                                   Getting larger as they approach.                                                                                                                                                                Will they ever land?

Red Goose Tracks lead to                                                                                                                                                                          A Hole n the Barn Door.                                                                                                                                                                             Will this nomad ever settle down                                                                                                                                                                 Or is his Wandering Foot                                                                                                                                                                            Destined to roam forever?       

Propped against the wall is Jacob’s Ladder,                                                                                                                                               Bright fluorescent rungs lead up and up.                                                                                                                                                    What is at the top?                                                                                                                                                                                     Who will climb it and see?                                                                                                                                                                           Maybe no one.

Grandmother’s Flower Garden stretches serenely ahead.                                                                                                                          A cobblestone path meandering through                                                                                                                                                   Dark green leaves surrounding                                                                                                                                                                   Violets of every color imaginable. 

Off to one side blooms a dahlia,                                                                                                                                                                  A Giant Dahlia with                                                                                                                                                                                     Dark blue petals framing a                                                                                                                                                                          Golden yellow center.                                                                                                                                                                                 Commanding the eye of every beholder.

Sue, wearing her Sunbonnet                                                                                                                                                                       Takes all of this in.                                                                                                                                                                                      Her crisp white apron protects                                                                                                                                                                     Her pink calico dress.                                                                                                                                                                                A large bonnet hiding her face from view.

Quilts, as colorful as their names.

 

                                                                                 Slice of Life Challenge                                                                                                                                                             Please join the challenge over at Two Writing Teachers!

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Final Thoughts on the Quilt Show

  1. I love quits. Not a maker but an admirer. The pattern of your poem so beautifully conjures up images. I think part of the magic of quilts are their names.

  2. I’m with you, I want a quilt to keep me warm, but I do admire the artistry. I love the way you incorporated the names of patterns, some I’d never heard of before.
    Here’s an idea for you if you are out of ideas, tell about your Byzantine religion. I know nothing of this. What regions of the world would one find this church? How is is similar/different from other religions? I know I can google it, but I know your telling would be more informative than Wikipedia. 🙂

  3. I have come to know the stories behind the quilt recently and enjoyed your poem very much, while I don’t know all the quilt blocks you describe I do know the flying geese, it sits on the corner of Three Fires Rd and Chippewa rd in my community on a barn quilt trail and I see the tradition you speak of and relish. Our trail is called the Native Women’s Trail of Tears barn quilt trail, while I am not a quilter I had the pleasure of sitting with many elders who are to build this quilt to commemorate women in the War of 1812, their stories coming form the perspective as First Nation women at that time. Miigwech for you steadfast hold on traditions.

  4. I loved your poem. I recognized some of the patterns…but some were new to me. I like the traditional patterns…because even each of those is so different because of the different fabrics used. I have really enjoyed reading about the quilt show and seeing pictures of them. Jackie

  5. We have a quilt hanging on the wall of our great room. It is by far one of my favorite possessions. One day I hope to have a quilt on my bed. However I have to find one that’s just right first.

  6. I loved the structure of this, and the way you played with white space.

  7. I love the quilt poem. I want a quilt that keeps me warm, too. I like the image of pioneer women using their scraps to piece together something so useful and making it beautiful at the same time.
    I’d love to see the barn quilt trail in leslee’s comment. In the “Amish country” in northern Indiana, in the spring they have a quilt garden tour, where the patterns come to life in flowers.

  8. Your post reminded me of Alice Walker’s “Everyday Use” and just when I thought it couldn’t be any more literary, you pulled out that beautiful poem. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

