The other night Kathy and I were watching TV.  Usually when the commercials come on I reach for the remote and mute them.  This night, however, I didn’t.  I was too lazy to reach a foot to get the remote.  When the commercial was finished I turned to Kathy and said, “Commercials aren’t what they use to be.  What’s missing from most is a catchy jingle.”

We then started remembering some of our favorite commercials from years ago.  Anyone remember Dinah Shore singing, “See the USA in a Chevrolet, America is asking you to call…”

Or what about Ethel Merman telling us , “You can trust you car to the man who wears a star, the big, bright Texaco star.”

A few more:

“Oh, I wish I were an Oscar Mayer wiener, that is what I’s truly like to be…..”

Oh you need fluff, fluff, fluff, to make a Fluffernutter…..”

“Ai yi yi yi, I am the Frito bandito…”

“I’m Chiquita banana and I’ve come to say…”

Here are a few without the product mentioned.  How many of them do you know?

1.  “Snap, what a happy sound.  Snap is the happiest sound I’ve found…”

2.  “Who walks the stairs alone or in pairs and makes the happiest sound…”

3.  “I’d like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony.  I’d like to but the world a ________ and keep it company…”

4.  “Plop plop fizz fizz oh what a relief it is…”

5.  ________is a heavenly coffee better coffee a millionaire’s money can’t buy.”

6.  “Everybody doesn’t like something, but nobody doesn’t like ___________….”

7.  “Once upon a time there was an engineer.  Choo Choo Charlie was his name I hear…”

8.  “”Sometimes yo feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t…”

9.  You deserve a break today, so get out and get away to_____________…”

10.  “Candy coated popcorn, peanuts and a prize, that’s what you get in ___________________…”

In case you need the answers, here they are: 1(Rice Crispies), 2 (Slinky), 3 (Coke), 4 (Alka Seltzer), 5 (Chock Full of Nuts coffee),      7 (Good and Plenty), 8 (Almond Joy/ Mounds), 9 (McDonalds), 10 (Cracker Jack).

If you want to hear these jingles, here are a couple of you tube videos:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhHlxPKDUh4  and                http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLRhsxJ8_GE

What would you like to add to the list?

 

7 Comments

March 9, 2014 · 3:07 pm

7 responses to “

  1. Funny, how many you can remember. Advertisers would be overjoyed,

  2. “Hold the pickle, hold the lettuce; special orders don’t upset us! All we ask is that you let us serve it your way… have it your way, at ______________.” (Answer: Burger King) LOVE THIS!!!

  3. This also makes me think of Simon Sinek’s books, START WITH WHY and LEADERS EAT LAST. He discusses that successful companies teach us the WHY of what they do vs. WHAT they do. So Coke would have been more successful with their “I’d Like to Teach the World To Sing” than the Cracker Jack company just telling us WHAT they do. Interesting!

  4. Oh wow – you remembered some fantastic ones! Now I will have them playing over and over in my head – THOSE were jingles to remember.

  5. This was fun! I knew some but not others. It is interesting how those stay in your head – I need to remember that when I’m learning something new. It’s not hard – just put it to music!

  6. Sad to say, I knew quite a few on your quiz. However, I never heard of the Chock Full of Nuts coffee, could that be something on the eastern side of the country?

  7. I loved this. My mother was media director for an advertising agency…so commercials were quite important in our house. In fact…she lived with me her last 12 years…and still watched and commented on commercials. She told me that Nationwide had to change there jingle from
    “The man from Nationwide is on your side” to “Nationwide is on your side” to not be accused of sexism. I got all of your quiz right…think those of us in our 60s were at an advantage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

