What’s in a Name?

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.Today’s slice is inspired by something Elsie wrote in my comments yesterday having to do with my posted name – arjeha.  What is it?  Where did it come from?  Why such a name?

Well, to start with let me just say that when my friend Cindy Minnich got me started with this last June I wasn’t really sure where it would go or even if I would keep up with it.  I didn’t really consider myself a writer even though I taught sixth grade English and writing, went through the Capital Area Writing Project in 2000, and still work with the project as a volunteer co-director.  What could I possible have to write about that people would want to read?

So when it came time to pick a name for my WordPress blog I didn’t want to use my name.  I came up arjeha instead.  Here is what it means.  Not very original but it works for me.  Arjeha is simple the initial of my first name, middle name, and the first two letters of my last name.  R(ar)obert J(je)ames Ha(ha)mera – arjeha. Would you believe that “ja”was already taken so hence the “je”?

To my brothers and sister I will always be Bobby even though I am 62.  To my nephews ans niece I am Uncle Bobby,  To my colleagues I am Bob , and on my blog I am arjeha.

So there you have the origin on my name.  Not very exciting, but it works for me.  Elsie, thanks for the suggestion.

Bob

 

Check out the other slice of life stories at http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com.

 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “What’s in a Name?

  1. I love hearing about how writers came up with their blog names. I chose mine based on what was going on in my life at the time I joined in the Slice of Life for the first time. My daughter had just received her acceptance letter to Indiana State University, home of the Sycamores- parents are “treemoms” and “treedads”… that translated into “newtreemom” and it has stuck even though the “new” part may be a little out of date, with my daughter about to reach the halfway mark in her college years.

  2. Interesting! I do wonder where people get their usernames and passwords sometimes. 🙂 They can tell us a lot about people – important dates, precious children, beloved pets, etc. Yours looks very mysterious. 😉 Thanks for clearing that up!

  3. I love it…it reminds me of my Dad’s Illlinois plate when we were young. Najuca….I’ve loved the sound forever na (Nancy) ju (julie) and ca (carol). Maybe I should change my blog to that beloved name. xo

  4. Wow…now I have learned how you and elsie got your names. Quite interesting…but really interesting that ‘ja’ had already been taken. I had thought to use the name Kay Poe after the capo used to change keys on a guitar…but I stuck with Jackie…or is it jhaworthoy? Oh well, this is fun to read and learn a little more about others.

  5. Thanks for sharing this – I had a feeling it was an acronym of sorts but unsure. What fun to learn about some of these blogging names

  6. Now the world knows the story of this unique name. I can’t believe you had to change your vowel.

Leave a Reply

