Yesterday’s Road Trip

ImageYesterday was a road trip day for Kathy and me.  Kathy had a doctor’s appointment and I had to get my allergy shots.  Usually when we go out we make a day of it.  As long as the car is going we plan what we want/need to do and blow the day.

Because Kathy gets blood work done after her appointment, we didn’t have breakfast before we left the house.  I could have eaten but chose not to.  So, first stop after the doctor visit was a visit to Cracker Barrel for some french toast and coffee.  Because it was Ash Wednesday we couldn’t have any meat eliminating bacon from breakfast.

After  breakfast, which was more like noon because of the appointment, we took a ride to Shenandoah, or as locals call it “Shendo”, to pick up the light bill at Kathy’s mom’s house.  Although her mom has been gone for several years, we still own the house and pay the bills.  We could have PPL send the bills to our house, but that would be too easy.

We then had to decide if we should go home or somewhere else.  Any guesses as to what we chose?  Kathy had received an email from a cross stitch shop in Reading announcing that they had a pattern she wanted.  She told me to tell her “No, you don’t need another pattern.  You have enough to work on at home.  You’ll never be able to finish what you already have.”

So of course I said , “Let’s go.”  After all, it’s only an hour’s ride.  So off we went.  We got to the shop and sure enough they had the pattern plus a package of the specialty floss needed to do it.  They also had a few other things she found.  Imagine that.  We spent about an hour looking and shopping.

From there we took a ride over to Barnes and Noble, one of my favorite stores.  We spent a good hour there looking around, seeing what is new, and making a few purchases.

By the time we finished, we were both a little hungry but not famished because of the big breakfast we had.  Where to go for dinner?  How about Red Lobster for lobsterfest?  So off we went.  We knew we couldn’t do justice to one of their big meals because we weren’t that hungry.  So, we had what we normally don’t have room for when we usually eat there – appetizers and dessert.

Kathy had a cup of New England clam chowder and I had a cup of lobster bisque.  We then shared a lobster pizza, and finished by sharing an apple dessert served with a scoop of ice cream and drizzled with caramel.  Not a typical dinner, but it worked for us.

Today, now , I need to stay home and get some things taken care of around the house.  We have a big tipr, at least for us, planned for next week.  More about that in future posts.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Yesterday’s Road Trip

  1. Sounds like a perfect day. Not typical as you say but it works! Perfect.

  2. I love how your wife told you to tell her that she did not need to buy another cross stitch pattern….and you said, “let’s go.” That made me smile. Sounds like a busy day…but rewarding. My husband and I do the same thing sometimes…and I can just here him react like you did. So glad I found your blog to read…it is always interesting and entertaining. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. You both seem always ready for an adventure…and good food!

  4. I love your sense of adventure, there is always somewhere to go or someplace to eat. I am all for indulging in the meals created by others. If you are out, you might as well hit all the places you want. We have been known to drive to KC(2.5 hours away) just to get a certain meal.
    Thanks for explaining the name of your blog in my comments. I’ve tried to make sense of it, but always came up short. There’s an idea for you for a post. 🙂

  5. What a great day! I had mine and so glad you had a perfect one as well.

  6. Sounds like you had a wonderful day. I do know there is no way my husband would spend on hour in a cross-stitch shop! I used to cross-stitch before my quilting days but now that I am teaching I just don’t have time. Maybe in my retirement days!

  7. Jaana

    Day well spent!

Leave a Reply

