That Time of the Month

It creeps up with little warning,

Freezing temps and snow on the ground don’t keep it away.

Blazing heat and bright sunlight; it’s still comes.

Warning signs are small.

A look that says, “I know it’s coming.”

I don’t want it to, but I can’t stop it.

Soothing words don’t help.

It’s that time of the month.

The visit to the vet.

As I have written about before, Archie goes to the vet once a month to get a laser treatment and a shot for his arthur.  He is not a good traveler.  In fact he usually gets sick in his carrier while we are still 15 minutes from the vets.  It is a 40 minute ride and it is long.  

Archie usually starts his howling as soon as I strap his carrier in the back seat.  He doesn’t stop until we leave the office.  Usually we listen for the telltale sound of him licking his nose.  This means that within the nest 30 seconds he will be sick.  Today, however, for the second month in a row he did not get sick.

Although he hates going, the treatment and shoe really do help him.  For the next three weeks he will be a bit more active and less achy.  We are glad to to anything that makes life easier for him.

 Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “That Time of the Month

  1. Another successful trip to the vet! Something to celebrate, for sure. It’s tough getting old, humans and animals.
    BTW, I keep forgetting to say I like the new look. 🙂

  2. Bree @The Things We Read

    Haha I totally thought your post was going to be about something else. So sorry about the poochy vet visits.

  3. Lisa

    Poor dog! Our cat acts the same in the car, though we take her very infrequently. I suppose it is because there is usually a needled involved in her visits.

  4. Are you sure Archie’s a dog? Sounds just like a kid. How life has changed.

  5. I think a lot of us can relate to this post. I can just hear Archie howling…and 40 minutes is a long time for howling! Nimbus is different…she just gets small in her carrier…and fortunately we are only five minutes from the vet.

  6. I wish I had sometime to take care of the arthritic old me this gently! Hope he feels better.

  7. Jaana

    I had forgotten about your vet visits when I started reading your post. My mind was going in a different direction. Made me chuckle when I realized what you were referring to! I am glad the car trip was easier.

Leave a Reply

