Date Afternoon Follow-up

Yesterday Kathy and I had a date afternoon at the Hershey Theatre to see Sister Act.  Here’s how it went.  The show was, as one of the songs puts it, “Fabulous Baby”.  We have been waiting for this to come to Hershey since we saw it on Broadway.  In fact, we enjoyed it so much that, and I know this was impulsive and extravagant for us, during intermission we went to the ticket window and bought two tickets for the 8:00 show.  Yes, we saws it twice in one day.  If you ever get a chance to see the show, go for it.  It is pure fun.  Check out some of the videos of the show on You Tube.  One more thing, I did leave the show singing some of the songs, but in my head only.  Believe me, you would not want to hear me sing.  Not a pretty thing!

After the show we did go to church.  There is a 5:15 mass at St. Joan of Arc right in Hershey.  After mass we went to dinner.  Now since mass was over at 6:30 and we had to be back at the theatre before 8:00 we had to change our dinner plans.  Instead of the Hershey Grill or Applebees we needed to eat quickly.

However, we did eat well.  I will say that I had a succulent sirloin done to perfection smothered in onions and cheese.  Yes, I did have fries with that all at the golden arches.

Going back to the afternoon performance of the show I want to say that since we have season tickets and have been subscribers for about 20 years keeping our same seats every year, we have come to know the other subscribers who sit around us.  We have become what I call theatre friends.  We only see each other at the shows but we look forward to talking to each other before the show and at intermission.  One couple we have know for at least 15 years.

Back in November they weren’t at the show.  We knew that the wife, Louise, wasn’t doing well.  both she and her husband were in their 80s.  Yesterday their granddaughter, who we had met before, came up to us and told us that both Louise and Ray had passed away in the fall within six weeks of each other..  Stephanie told us that her grandparents often talked about us after the shows and that they looked forward to seeing us.

We are going to miss them and I know that we will always look at the two seats next to us when we go to the theatre and offer a silent prayer up for Ray and Louise.

Well, now I think I need a day or tow to recoup from being out.  It seems that the older I get the longer it takes me to bounce back from an outing.

Next and last show of the season in the first week in April – Flashdance, the Musical. 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Date Afternoon Follow-up

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful day despite the news about your theater friends. Flashdance in April – what another wonderful show with wonderful music. I hope you have a lovely day of rest and relaxation!

  2. I was so glad to see that your post today is about your adventures yesterday. After reading your post yesterday, I was curious how it would go…and it seems that the show was more than a success. I love how you described your meal at the ‘golden arches’. Sorry to hear about your theater friends…but so glad that their granddaughter talked with you about what happened. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. I have been working on lessons for opinion writing in third grade, so your reviews really struck home. I may use excerpts from them (if you don’t mind).
    So sorry for your friends passing, but it is nice to know what happened.
    The last show should be a fun one too. Maybe you will leave that one dancing and singing. 🙂

  4. I loved the movie Sister Act, but haven’t seen the show. Maybe I should keep an eye out for it. I’m sorry about your “theater friends” passing. How thoughtful of their granddaughter to let you know what happened. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

