New Tool

     I admit that I am not the handiest person around the house.  Yeah, I can change a light bulb or hang a picture.  As a result I am always looking for things to make my life simpler.  Any new tool that comes along I like to check out.  I don’t necessarily buy it, but I do look to see what it is like and what it does.

     For example, how did we ever live without a stud finder?  I mean, why go tapping on the wall, listening for sound differences, trying to find a stud when all you have to do is move the stud finder along the wall and it lets you know where the stud is located?  Makes hanging a picture much easier.

      What about the laser level?  Turn it on and you have a perfectly level line for placing that first floor tile or piece of wall paper.

      It seems that someone is always coming up with some new labor saving device.  I just saw that some company, the name escapes me, has a new tool on the market.  It is called the Center Alignment Tool.  Its maker guarantees that this tool will always find the middle of whatever space you are in.

      I have one and it works perfectly.  All I have to do is walk in the door with an arm full of packages and my new Center Alignment Tool, or C.A.T. for short, plops down right in the middle of the hallway, never to one side.  Of course I have to step over it so I don’t trip.

      If I am walking from the kitchen to the living room with a cup of tea for Kathy and myself, my C.A.T. will park himself right in the middle of where I am walking.  How useful is that!

      Going downstairs to the basement I always know where the middle of the fourth step down is because sure enough my C.A.T. will be right there.

      I think the most amazing thing about the C.A.T. is that it even works in the dark. If I get up during the night to go to the bathroom, my C.A.T. is right in the middle of the hallway.  I usually am still half asleep so I don’t always see it in time.  Luckily, the C.A.T. comes with a built in alarm that lets me and anyone else within a one mile radius know when I have inadvertently stepped on any part of it.

      Now I ask you, who can live without a C.A.T?  I know that I can’t and wouldn’t want to.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “New Tool

  1. That was very clever. I thought you were going to go in a sort of Buddhist Centering riff.
    Bernadette

  2. You have such a fun and unique perspective! I always enjoy your wit.

  3. That is a CUTE post! I actually thought that you were talking about a new tool at first!

  4. Judy C.

    And here I was ready to go out look for that new tool, but I have my own centering tool – his name is Max and he is a D.O.G. Thanks for the cute slice.

  5. HA! Yes, I have one of those as well – indispensable.

  6. I love it! I have two. Very handy for keeping me on my toes. And knocking me off of them.

Leave a Reply

