Please Don’t Hate Me

I am sitting here with a cup of coffee, looking out of the window, and watching the snow fall.  I suddenly think, Hooray! I don’t have to be out in that weather.  I didn’t have to get up at 4:30 so that I could go out, shovel off the driveway and clean the snow off of the car so that I could get to work. 

I didn’t have to sit around wondering if the phone would ring informing me that school was on a 2 hour delay or maybe even closed.  I was always annoyed when this call came after I was up, dressed, and ready to go for the day.  There was no going back to sleep because I was wired. 

I didn’t have to worry about drivers who didn’t give themselves extra time to get to where they were going because of road condition.  I didn’t have to wonder if our roads were clear since our county is not known as one of the best for snow removal.

I didn’t have to try to teach students who were distracted by the snow falling outside.  I didn’t have to listen to them complain about being in school when the surrounding districts were closed.

I can sit in my house, enjoy my coffee and if I feel like going out later to clean off the car I will.  If not, it will keep.  I think my mantra for snowfalls this year will be, “God put it there, he can take it away.”

Just another perk of retirement.  Those of you who have to go out, please don’t hate me.  Safe driving to all who need to be out in the snow.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Please Don’t Hate Me

  1. I don’t hate you, but I do envy you!

  2. Oh, the perks of retirement. Enjoy!

  3. That is exactly what happened to me today. Last night they called for a 2-hour delay. I was up at the regular time, thinking I could get some work down before the students came in. I was dressed and ready to go, and the phone rings. I looked at my husband who answered it and said, “Don’t even say it!” He said OK but no school today! Three snow days and it is only Dec. 10th! I hope you enjoyed your day!

  4. Love the freedom of retirement! It does allow one to savor those weather battles others must fight. Enjoy your day!

  5. You put in years of work so it’s not possible for us to hate you. Enjoy this time (and watching the snow from your window).

  6. Jaana

    I don’t hate you, but I live in the hope that we will have a snowday before Christmas (I need to get ready).

  7. mmm, your story is the antidote to my entry!

Leave a Reply

