We all know that it is better to give than receive.  We should all share what we have with others. Hogwash!  Some things should not be shared.  Being on the receiving end is not always the best.  Let me explain.

 For the last two weeks Kathy has had a cold.  (I can see that you already know where this is heading.)  She has been coughing and feeling pretty miserable.  She is now over it and is in much better shape.

 I, on the other hand, have started to feel lousy.  I feel achy.   My head is stuffed.  I have a cold.  Did Kathy have to give it to me?  Did she have to share it? 

 I know that it was not done on purpose.  She did her best to stay away from me, not sneeze on me, not touch something and then give it to me.  I still got it.  It is difficult living in the same house and not catching each other’s colds.  Goodness knows that I shared mine with her when I was working.

 I guess I should be glad I didn’t get sick the way I normally did at the end of September.  Something about lack of sleep and being around kids for seven hours a day seemed to bring on a cold much more quickly.

 I have my cup of tea and there is a can on Chicken Noodle Soup on the shelf to help me through this.  Getting a cold reminded me so something I had written a while back:

 Blossom

 

Carried on a wet wind

the seed implants itself in fertile ground

and germination begins.

 

The first sign of life

can be something as simple

as the clearing of the throat.

 

A mild irritant, nothing more

not given a thought until it is repeated

becoming a constant tickle that will not be coughed away.

 

Throughout the day the tickle turns

into an uncomfortable soreness

that by evening leaves the throat raspy.

 

A hearty voice

reduced to a whisper

inaudible to many.

 

The nose clogs

making breathing difficult-

blowing does not help.

 

Chicken Noodle soup and ibuprofen

replace the main meals

while a tissue becomes the hand’s permanent extension.

 

 The cold has blossomed!

6 Comments

November 12, 2013 · 4:55 pm

6 responses to “

  1. I don’t like that you are ill – but I liked this slice and your poem. It is the teacher’s curse to get ill – usually on the first day of a holiday!

  2. Sorry you are not feeling well, but the poem is great!

  3. Feel better soon…hope we don’t all get a cold just reading that!!! Very descriptive!

  4. You are right, some things should not be shared, but I am glad you shared this slice today. I loved the poem, the slow way that tickle turns into a full blown cold. Enjoy your soup, drink plenty of fluids, and by next week you should be on the mend.

  5. Ah…chooo but at the moment only in words and not in my life. Those colds are a pain but soon you will be on the mend. It sounds like you are taking the right steps especially turning your illness into art!

  6. Love the poem! Be well. Be well. Somethings can’t help but be shared.

Leave a Reply

