Ghost the Musical and The Survivor

The Hershey Theatre season has begun!  Kathy and I went to see the first show of the Broadway series – GHOST The Musical.  How fitting for Halloween week.  Kathy and I have been going for the last 20 years keeping our aisle seats every year.  I like being on the aisle.  It is easy to be one of the first at the restroom during intermission.

I will say that the show was different.  It was not one of my most favorite shows.  I must say, though, that the staging and the special effects were something to see.  I left the theatre wondering how they did some of the things that they did.  I am glad that I did get the chance to experience the show without having to spend $150 for Broadway tickets when it was still playing in NYC.

Our next show will be in December – War Horse.  I am looking forward to seeing this.  I have heard some great things about the show and I have seen clips of the horses.  Should be a fantastic show.

After the show we decided to go to church instead of having to get up on Sunday.  Luckily Hershey has a Catholic church with a 5:15 Saturday afternoon mass.  Perfect for after a matinee at the theatre.  The other two shows in the series are Sister Act in March and Flashdance, the Musical in April.

OK, here it comes.  After church we had to go eat.  When we received our season tickets in the mail there was a coupon book with them.  One coupon was for a buy one get one free dinner at the Hershey Grill.  I am good with a free meal so this is where we went.  The food was delicious!  Kathy had da top sirloin and I had the Texas meatloaf.  We each cleaned dour plate.  The meatloaf was made with jalapenos so it was a bit spicy.  I happen to like spicy food. 

Of course we had to have dessert.  Kath had a salted caramel vanilla pudding cake and I had a pumpkin crème brulee.  Since we bought two subscription series for the theatre, we received two coupon booklets.  We will definitely use that second coupon before it expires.

One more thing, I just finished reading The Survivor by Gregg Hurwitz.  Really enjoyed the book.  Suppose you were in the near the end stages of ALS.  Suppose you climb a ledge to end things before the inevitable.  Suppose you look through a window and see a bank robbery taking place and people being killed.  Suppose your military training kicks in and you save the day.  Suppose you are told that the man who ordered the bank job will make you pay in ways you could not imagine.  This is the premise of the book.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ghost the Musical and The Survivor

  1. I think I will skip the play, but wish I could eat at the Hershey Grill. The food sounds fabulous! Hmmm, what an interesting premise for a book. Might be one I will read when I find some spare time.

    • As you probably know by now, I like to eat and am always willing to try new places. Since I have retired I now give myself permission to read for at least one hour a day.
      So many books, so little time.

Leave a Reply

