New York

On Saturday Kathy and I took a bus trip to NYC.  I always look forward to these trips (usually two a year). I had an aunt who lived and worked in Brooklyn and I would go visit her for a week every summer.  My aunt always took me to see at least one Broadway musical.  As a result I really enjoy the theatre.

Luckily my wife shares this joy of the theatre as well so we usually go to a show when we are there.  This trip was no exception.  I got tickets for us to see Big Fish, a new musical that just opened.  It is based on the Tim Burton film which I did not see.  Although I knew a little about the show I had no idea what to expect.  I was a little worried when the reviews of the show came out because they were not rave reviews.  In fact, they were mediocre.  Well, I have seen shows that the critics panned and I enjoyed them immensely. 

I was not disappointed with the show.  It was great!  There wasn’t a dry eye leaving the theatre, myself included.  Basically the show is about a son and father connecting.  The son is trying to understand who is father is through the “fish stories” he always told.  The cast was great, the music was good.  The play was enjoyable.  What more could you ask for?

As much as I enjoy the theatre I also like to eat.  There is a little French restaurant on 46th street that my wife and I enjoy going to for lunch.  They have a price fixed lunch menu for theatre goers.  The meal includes a glass of wine, soup or salad, entrée, and dessert.  Can’t go wrong with this deal.

Although I really enjoy going to New York, there is no way I would want to live there.  I don’t think I could take the pace.  I guess you can get used to it, but I don’t think I would want to.  I like the slow paced life I live.

Well, the next bus trip will be in May of next year.  I’ll have to see what new shows open between now and then,

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “New York

  1. marykatbpcsc45

    Nice slice of life post. I am glad you had a great day in New York and saw what sounds like a great play. 🙂

  2. I’m envious ! Sounds enjoyable….

  3. New York bus trips are a blast! Our next one is in November during which we’ll see the Rockette’s Christmas Spectacular! Thanks for the restaurant tip.

    • I love New York during the holiday season – the window displays, the skaters, etc. Enjoy the show. It is Years since we saw the Christmas show at Radio City.

  4. Thank you for your post about Big Fish. You should definitely rent the movie. Just a beautiful story about father son relationships. I am definitely going to try to get to NYC – you gave the ipetus.
    Bernadette

  5. I lived in Manhattan for almost eight years. I still can’t get enough of it. (Though I’m not sure I’d want to live there with my family now that we have a child. Not sure on that.)

    Glad you enjoyed your show and the dinner afterwards.

  6. Sounds like a fun bus trip….maybe my husband and I should try that too. I used to visit NYC a couple of times a year…and loved going to see a Broadway show…but it has been years now. Thanks for the post…it brings back great memories. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  7. I wish I lived closer so I could have some of those same experiences. One day I will get to NY and I will see a show. (I’m really thinking that may be my next birthday request.)

  8. Jaana

    One of my dreams has always been to go to a Broadway play.One day……..and if I go, I will need to know the name of the French Restaurant. It sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

